Print bookPrint book

Backup/Restore/Reset

Moodle Rollover Instructions for Teachers and Office staff
This document discusses... 
... of Moodle courses (teacher web pages)

Site: SD63 Online Collaboration Hub
Course: Moodle
Book: Backup/Restore/Reset
Printed by: Guest user
Date: Saturday, 10 April 2021, 4:10 PM

Introduction

Moodle Rollover Instructions for Teachers and Office staff
This document discusses... 
... of Moodle courses (teacher web pages)

Automatic Backups
Courses are backed up every night and the last 5 backups are kept.  These are full backups with all user data. (ie assignments).  Click on Restore in your Course Administration Block to see Automatic Backups.  Teachers cannot backup a course with user data included - see your site manager or use/download one of your Automatic Backups.

What is User Data?
• Enrolled students
• Forum posts
• Student assignments
• Quiz results
• Gradebook information
 
If you are concerned about keeping Gradebook information export your gradebook to a Spreadsheet and save that information off the Moodle site
 
The goal of these instructions are to...
• Ensure that teachers can backup their courses.
• Provide teachers with courses for the next semester/year without user data from the previous semester/year

Backup

Automatic Backups
Courses are backed up every night and the last 5 backups are kept.  These are full backups with all user data. (ie assignments).  Click on Restore in your Course Administration Block to see Automatic Backups.  Teachers cannot backup a course with user data included - see your site manager or use/download one of your Automatic Backups.

What is user data?
• Enrolled students

• Forum posts
• Student assignments
• Quiz results
• Gradebook information
 
If you are concerned about keeping Gradebook information export your gradebook to a Spreadsheet and save that information off the Moodle site.

To backup your course without user data

  1. Login to your school Moodle site
  2. Navigate to the desired course
  3. Go to the Administration > Course Administration
  4. Click on Backup
  5. Leave all boxes ticked to get a full backup of your course without user data.
  6. Scroll down  -  click on continue
  7. The default name specifies exact date and time of backup
  8. Scroll down  -  click on continue
  9. and again Scroll down  -  click on continue
  10. You will now be looking at the Course and Private backup area for your course and profile 
All course backups can be accessed at any time by clicking on Restore in the course.

If you would like the backup saved elsewhere you can download it.

Restore

RESTORE

NOTE: Elementary and Middle teachers should contact their site manager to assist with restoring a course from a backup.

Steps for Secondary teachers to restore

1. Create a new course 
2. Navigate to the "New Course"
3. Go to the Administration > Course Administration
4. Click on Restore


5. Find your backup

If your backup is on an external source (Home folder/flash drive) then....Click on Choose a file... and browse to your backup file


If your backup is on an the Moodle site then....Find the correct backup


6. Click Restore

7. Click Continue

Use section Restore into this course (you are restoring into the "new course" you are in)


8. Click Next
9. Click Next
10. Click Perform Restore
11. Click Continue

You now have a new course created from a backup.

Reset

The purpose of reset is to remove user data so it is ready for a new semester.

Instructions:

RESET (warning:  if you do this without a backup you will lose all user data forever)
  1. Login to your school Moodle site
  2. Navigate to the desired course
  3. Go to the Course Administration Block.....
  4. Click on Reset
  5. Scroll down and select the items you want to reset
    • You may choose to click on show advanced and select...
    • Delete all groups (If you have created groups)
    • Delete all forum subscriptions ((this includes only enrolled users currently...Guests must unsubscribe manually)
    • To delete forum posts only for the course the settings below will work. 

6. Click on Reset Course
7. Click on Continue
8. Your course is now ready for the next year/semester

Managing Backups

There are two types of backup files: Teacher generated and Automatic Backups

Please limit the number of Teacher generated backups you have: One backup per course is a preferable maximum. Backups can be downloaded and kept offsite.

1. Go to the Administration > Course Administration

2. Click on Restore

3. Click on Manage backup files for Course or Private backup area

4. Click on icon and choose Delete > Save Changes